The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

September 5, 2013

Twin County Hall of Fame class of 2013

Caldwell, Taylor, Fountain and Killebrew inducted


TARBORO — The Twin County Hall of Fame Class of 2013 named two Edgecombe County residents and another two with ties to the county among its 10 inductees.  Ralph Michael "Mike" Caldwell, a former Major League Baseball player and Jennie Douglas Taylor, a public educator who will be honored posthumously, will represent Edgecombe County.  Benjamin E. Fountain, Sr., an attorney who was born and raised in Leggett and Charles Killebrew, a photographer that graduated from Tarboro High School each had close ties to Edgecombe.

Born and raised in Tarboro, Caldwell played baseball at Tarboro High School and pitched two no-hitters his senior year. He also quarterbacked Tarboro to the Class 3A state football title. He continued his education and baseball career at N.C. State University. There he led the Wolfpack to the College World Series in 1968. By then, the major league scouts had their eyes on him. He was drafted by San Diego 1971. After three seasons with the Padres, he was traded to San Francisco Giants in 1974, and, in 1977, first to the Cincinnati Reds and then to the Milwaukee Brewers. It was there Caldwell became a major league star. In 1978, Caldwell earned the  American League Comeback Player of the Year, pitched in the 1982 World Series against St. Louis and finished second to Ron Guidry in voting for the Cy Young Award. Caldwell lives in Raleigh with his family.

Taylor was born in Charlotte, but worked throughout North Carolina in the fields of education and public health. A graduate of Biddle/Johnson C. Smith University in Charlotte, she attended Atlanta University and completed her Master at the University of Michigan.

Taylor taught at Fayetteville State University in the 1930s, leaving that position to become the Public Health Educator for the state of North Carolina. She also organized the Public Health Education Department at N.C. Central University.  Taylor moved to Tarboro after retiring from N.C. Central in the 1970s and co-founded the Community Enrichment Organization and served as a mentor to many young people. She died in 2006 at the age of 99.

Nash County inductees are, Walter C. Bryant, a Rocky Mount photographer, Cyrus Melvin Edson, educator in Edgecombe and Nash Counties, Benjamin E. Fountain, Sr. a Rocky Mount attorney, Henry Boone Grant, a pediatrician, Charles Killebrew, Jr., photographer, William "Bill" Murray, a college football coach, Deborah Sloan Kornegay, a community activist, and Tom Suiter, WRAL-TV sports anchor.

"This year's inductees represents a good crossbreed of the two county area in turns of their occupation and their accomplishment," said Steve Raper, the president of the Twin County Community Pride Inc. (TCCP).

The goal of the TCCP is to honor citizens of Nash and Edgecombe Counties who have made broad and lasting contributions to the betterment of the community or who have brought recognition to the community through their accomplishments. By recognizing these individuals, the Twin County Hall of Fame will stimulate an interest in and an appreciation for the value of the history of this community and its citizens.

Nominees can be nominated by individuals, organizations, civic, chartable, religious, industrial or professionals.

 The installation banquet will be at 6.p.m. Nov. 14 at Nash Community College. Tickets may be purchased from Twin County Board members or ordered through the website at or call 443.6318.