The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

December 19, 2012

Tyquan Lewis earns Prime Time spot on AP 1st team

Van Holland

TARBORO — Tarboro Vikings defensive end Tyquan Lewis has added another award to his collection. He was selected to the Associated Press All-State Defensive 1st team. Lewis received 15 out of a possible 17 votes, which was the most votes for a defensive player.

Lewis has been a driving force for the Vikings defense over the last four years. He was recently named the NCHSAA 2-A state championship Defensive Player of the Game.

Lewis led the Vikings for the second consecutive year with sacks and really turned up his game during the playoffs where he averaged at least two sacks per game in the playoffs.

Lewis' career took off during his sophomore season when he was an unknown, but quickly made a name for himself on the defensive side of the ball. He was a threat coming off of the end for opposing quarterbacks and couldn't be handled in the 2010 state championship game. He hit the quarterback on almost every other play.

Lewis committed to play football for the Ohio State Buckeyes and head coach Urban Meyer in September. He chose the Buckeyes over North Carolina and LSU.

Lewis decided to go play for the Buckeyes, because he connected well with the coaching staff there. Meyer was impressed with Lewis when he worked out for the Buckeye coaching staff. He said Lewis was one of the fastest players he had seen come off the edge and the others he had seen like that were top draft picks in the NFL.

Lewis played in the Shrine Bowl this past weekend. On the opening kickoff he forced a fumble and North Carolina scored off of the turnover.

Lewis began his senior campaign going to combines. The most prestigious was "The Opening" in Oregon that was hosted by Nike at their headquarters.

Lewis is listed as a four star athlete and has an impressive time in the 40-yard dash. His big 6-foot-4 230 pound frame has been a force on the gridiron.

When he goes to college to play for the Buckeyes, he will move from defensive end to linebacker.

Lewis is the second Viking to earn a spot on the All-State team the past two years. Last year Todd Gurley earned a spot on the team.

Also making the All-State team was four players from Matthews Butler, Receiver Uriah LeMay, linebackers Peter Kalambayi and Sean Wiggins, and defensive back Channing Stribling represented the Class 4-AA champions on the 28-player squad. It marked the second time in four seasons that Butler had four players on the AP team.

The Butler quartet helped the Bulldogs go 15-0 and win a third North Carolina High School Athletic Association championship in four seasons. Butler closed the year with a 56-28 win against Fayetteville Britt in the 4-AA final.

Kalambayi was one of two players to make the AP team for the second straight season, joining Charlotte Vance linebacker Larenz Bryant.

Three other schools had a pair of all-state picks. Davidson Day had quarterback Will Grier and offensive lineman Schuyler Coleman. Charlotte Mallard Creek had receiver Marquez North and tight end Jaylen Samuels. Richmond County had offensive lineman Tyrone Crowder and defensive lineman Devant’e Covington.

Raleigh Wakefield receiver Jordan Fieulleteau, a North Carolina recruit, received 16 of a possible 17 votes from sports writers across the state to lead the team. Northern Guilford running back T.J. Logan, another UNC recruit who led his team to a third straight state title.

Charlotte Catholic running back Elijah Hood joined Grier and Logan in the backfield. Also on the offensive line with Crowder and Coleman were Albemarle’s Roger Prince Jr., Davie County’s Trip McNeil and East Forsyth’s Brandon Smith.

On defense, Wilson Hunt’s Lewis Neal and Hope Mills South View’s Greg Gilmore joined Lewis and Covington on the line.

Belmont South Point’s Daishon Davis was the fourth linebacker chosen for the team. Davis and Wiggins each tied with five votes for the last spot at the position.

In the secondary, Durham Hillside’s Korrin Wiggins, Charlotte Independence’s Jack Tocho.

 and Monroe’s Jermany Hammonds joined Butler’s Stribling.

On special teams, North Davidson’s Spencer Landfried made the team at kicker while Indian Trail Porter Ridge’s Matt Wogan was voted in at punter.

Swansboro’s DeAndre Thompkins was selected as kick returner, while Swain County’s Matthew Maennle rounded out the team at athlete.