The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

Opinion
  • Criticized teacher ‘contemplating suicide’

    Lately, I find myself contemplating suicide.  Don’t be alarmed…not physical suicide.  I’m talking about professional suicide.  I find myself on the ledge of a very tall skyscraper, and all I can think is “JUMP.”  Just do a swan dive off that ledge.  Watch a twenty year career splatter into bits and pieces on the sidewalk below.

    March 21, 2013

  • Voter ID causing great flap

    There seems to be some controversy about whether someone going to the polls to vote should be required to show a photo voter ID or not? My opinion is “Darn right they should.” Voting is a right and a privilege; in fact I think it’s a duty. However, one should be qualified to vote and not vote multiply times.

    March 20, 2013

  • We Salute...

    Each Friday, The Daily Southerner will recognize individuals, groups and businesses in Edgecombe County who have gone “above and beyond” in their effort to make this a better place to work, play and raise a family.

    March 15, 2013

  • For cluless GOP, No amnesty upside

    On Capitol Hill, events related to the congressional amnesty debate are unfolding at breakneck pace. Last week, the Obama administration authorized the release from federal detention centers of 10,000 criminal aliens. Department of Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano hinted at the move in her press conference when she disingenuously bemoaned how sequestration would force her to cut border patrol agents. For President Obama, the aliens' release represents a two for the price of one. First, Obama is reminding House Republicans that he intends to play tough on the budget negotiations. And second, Obama has sent the nation a message that he wants his way on amnesty — or else.

    March 11, 2013

  • Tax and spend results staggering

    Let’s imagine a married couple going to a financial councilor about their personal financial problems and their meeting goes something like this:
    Okay,” says the financial counselor, “You say you’re having some budget problems huh?”
    Well, I guess we might,” answers the husband.  “When we try to pay our monthly bills we come up much shorter than what our income is.”

    March 6, 2013

  • To the Editor:

    To the Editor:
    If the flags in Tarboro are not flying at half-staff, then they should be as a true patriot, hero, and Christian has died.

    March 4, 2013

  • Pancakes offer anniversary meal

    The weather this weekend was eerily similar to that of a year ago, a fact I remember because of
    an occurrence of events then.

    February 25, 2013

  • Sales tax regressive?

    The possibility of North Carolina doing away with a state income tax and going with a sales tax has gotten a lot of liberals in an uproar.  “It’s a regressive tax,” they yell.  “It hits the poor and favors the rich.”  This is a very ‘knee jerk’ reaction when we really look at the facts.  

    February 20, 2013

  • To The Editor:

    Your coverage on the gun control debate was fair and accurate and I have fought against gun control my whole life. The sad thing is this time the American public is haunted by the ghosts of 20 innocent children and the claims by the proponents for assault weapons is making all gun owners look callous and uncaring.

    February 18, 2013

  • Memories of a country mailman

    There was a time when a business needed one of the larger post office boxes available for rent.

    February 11, 2013

Your Comments
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Facebook
Twitter Updates