The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

February 25, 2013

Pancakes offer anniversary meal

PINETOPS — The weather this weekend was eerily similar to that of a year ago, a fact I remember because of

an occurrence of events then.

Stephanie had arrived in Raleigh Thursday night and driven on to Tarboro, arriving just in time to watch a number of doors being locked, but not at Mama’s Pizza.

That Friday, we got up and I started giving her the tour of the community we now call home. I used every bit of knowledge I could must from my month on the ground here.

It was an unusually warm day, almost like late spring, as we drove around town looking at houses.

By mid-afternoon, we were talking food and were looking forward to eating some pancakes with the Kiwanis ... but we both wanted to crash a bit, so we went out to Lake Valley to grab 20 winks before heading back into town.

Well before dark, I awoke and looked at the window. I thought we had overslept because it was so dark outside — but it was because of the storm clouds.

The winds really began to blow and, according to weather bulletins, a tornado-carrying storm moved from west to east to the north of us.

We never left the apartment.

The next morning we were scheduled to look at houses and wanted food, we we headed to the Kiwanis pancake breakfast (since we missed the supper).

As we went outside, we were blasted with a cold wind that blew hard all day and throughout the day Sunday.

This year, it was cooler on Friday and wet and warmer on Saturday.

The pancakes were great both times, but more enjoyable this time because we both knew people there and for me because Stephanie is here and not heading to the airport.

• • •

We adopted a Lab mix about 20 months ago. Bridget, like most Labs, is a gentle and loving creature who has become ingrained in our lives.

But she has her moments of mischief.

Take Friday night, for example.

As we were preparing to leave the pancake supper, I went back to the griddle one more time and got some more pancakes — including a couple for Bridget.

As we got home and were walking toward the back door, Stephanie said “the kitchen door is open.”

Now, if Bridget is home alone, that’s never a good sign as our Punkin’ can dumpster dive with the best of them!

As we walked in the back door, there she was ... lying on her bed with both front paws securing what had become an almost empty jar of Jif peanut butter.

You see, she had gone into the kitchen (I closed two of three doors) and managed to push the trash can across the room but was unsuccessful in tipping it over. With that avenue blocked, she did what any enterprising Lab

with time on their hands, er, paws ... she managed to open a pantry door and get the Jif off a shelf that’s about chest high.

After a quick scold from Stephanie, Bridget, whose tail was going 90-to-nothing on our return, stuck her nose back down in the jar and started after the peanut butter again!

• • •

For such a loving pup, she doesn’t handle spare time well. She’s eaten Stephanie’s blueberry pretzels off the counter and grabbed a peanut butter cookie out of my hand when my attention wandered.

We now close bathroom doors when we leave so as to keep her from checking out the trash cans and the kitchen’s been off limits for a couple of months.

Sometimes, though, she’s like the 2-year-old who can’t stay out of trouble. The other night, we had just left the kitchen when Stephanie heard a noise and went to catch Bridget checking out the cooktop!

• • •

Still, even through we’d like to shave her bald on occasion, we wouldn’t trade her for the world.

She always meets us at the door with one of her stuffed animals in her mouth and she makes a little whining noise as her rear shakes from side to side as she lets you know she’s glad your home.

And Stephanie and I have both learned that after a tough day, having her come up to you and place her chin on your leg so it’s easier for you to pet her is probably the best stress reliever in the world.

(John H. Walker is editor and publisher of The Daily Southerner.)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013