The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

December 31, 2012

Another year passes

TARBORO — “Like sands through an hourglass ...”

While the soap opera was a bit different from every day life, it was a lot closer to reality that most of us would want to admit.

With time running out, our “leaders” in Washington continue to play the blame game and point fingers at one another as the folks who foot the bill for the operation of our country (no, not the Chinese) are left to twist in the wind.

Sunday night, as this column is being written, Senate Republicans forwarded a proposal to Harry Reid and said they were optimistic the “fiscal cliff” could be avoided.

Watching from afar, the soap opera playing out in Washington reminds of us of a couple of brash, young hotrodders playing chicken — with a roadway full of schoolchildren in-between.

It would be nice if both sides could belly up to the bar and engage in a little bit of give and take. We all hear from each side about how they are willing to give while the other side only wants to take, but we all know that the both the Demadonts and Republicants — as my friend, Garland Robinette of WWL Radio in New Orleans calls them — are both in full press public relations mode.

If day-to-day life were a washing machine, both parties would be on the spin cycle.

It’s impossible for them to get the message that we want the business of the country taken care of because we keep sending them back to the trough to feed.

•     •     •

Today’s newspaper has one of those stories you love to see and one that breaks your heart ...

Instead of allowing the Grinch to steal Christmas from the family of John and Tammy Owens, family friend Paula Mazingo intervened to ensure the family of 12 discovered there are those who care about others.

Miranda Baines shares the story with us and tells how the community rose to the occasion.

But it wasn’t just one time for that to happen over the holidays ... there were countless people who gave and gave again to help others.

The really heartwarming thing about it all is that for 99.9 percent of the people, they are giving to a stranger.

I’m sure there are times when, without realizing it, we help someone we may know but that, I think, is the exception, rather than the rule.

The second story is that of 12-year old James Lee Parker, who was accidentally shot while on a hunting trip with his father, uncle and step-brother.

That’s a story we’d rather not have to share with you.

Sunday night, we’re told, the outpouring of support for the family was amazing, as persons of all walks of life went to Carlisle Funeral Home to pay their respects.

Funeral services for young James are at 2 today at Tarboro Church of God.

•     •     •

We hope you had as wonderful a Christmas as we did, visiting the grandbabies in Burlington, Ky.

Stepson Drew has been deployed most Christmases and when he asked his mom if we could come visit, it didn’t take long for her to answer.

One of my joys has been introducing Alex (7) and Dominick (5) to the world of trains. We went to our first train show in Birmingham in 2010 and we got to do it at Christmas, crossing into Cincinnati to see Duke Energy’s “World of Trains” at one of the Union Station museums. Grampy and Mimi enjoyed it as much as the boys!

Have a happy and safe new year!

(John H. Walker is editor and publisher of The Daily Southerner.)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013