The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

December 26, 2012

To the Editor:

Immigration debate must continue in United States

TARBORO — To the Editor:

The debate on illegal immigration appears to have come to a standstill. We must continue the debate because our nation is being invaded by individuals who come to the United States for work. We are also being invaded by two more groups; those who come here for the benefits offered by many of our states and a final group who come here to have a baby, a baby that has become known as an anchor baby.

The current debate on illegal immigration is not addressing the situation with anchor babies. There are individuals whose sole purpose of coming to the United States is to have their child on United States soil making the child a United States citizen and therefore allowing the family to stay and in most cases become dependent on the state government and the United States government for their support. There is a house in California where Chinese women come to have their baby for the sole purpose of the baby becoming an anchor baby for the family's residences and access to the United States’ entitlement system.

The 14th Amendment to the United States Constitution is the basis that is being used to allow those of a foreign parent born on United States soil to become United States citizens.

When the 14th Amendment was drafted, passed by Congress, and ratified by the states after the Civil War, the amendment was to address the status of those slaves that had been freed as a result of the Civil War. I would believe that those who drafted, passed, and ratified the 14th Amendment would be appalled at the way it has been used and distorted from its original intent.

Today the 14th Amendment is not being used to protect those whose families have been here for years and in some cases centuries. The true intent of the 14th Amendment has been abandoned in favor of using it to make immediate citizens of those born on United States soil even if the birthing mothers had only been on United States soil for minutes or seconds.

Any legislation on illegal immigration must contain a requirement that all babies born in the United States would immediately become citizens of the birth mother's country. No one should become a citizen of the United States simply because the birth mother just happened to be in the United States at the time of birth. Babies must become citizens of their mother's country.

Place of birth alone should never determine an individual's citizenship.

Ray Shamlin

Nash County

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013

Your Comments
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Facebook
Twitter Updates