The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

November 12, 2012

On dealing with humanity

TARBORO — I’m probably not much different from any other grandparent.

As we heard the story Monday morning about the 2-year-old who was treated just about every way but humanely last weekend, we started trying to track the story down.

As the information was s-l-o-w-l-y made public — finally being partially released on Thursday — the sadistic nature of the treatment of this little 2-year-old child called “Star” by her mother was all but unbelievable.

As it turned out, news of her injuries and the nature of her injuries were made public through social media, as information made public through law enforcement was slim.

We understand that, though, to a degree in that the publicly disclosed word of any investigation can cause those involved to flee in an effort to avoid prosecution.

But don’t we think these perpetrators knew what they did? Don’t we think they knew someone was going to come looking for them? Don’t we think they knew that if someone got their hands on them, a rope and a tree that they’ve have holy heck to pay?

Investigations should not be hampered at the cost of a press release ... but the failure to release information in a timely manner can — and did — result in the spread of misinformation that could have impacted the community far beyond the knowledge that we have animals among us who would ravage a small child.

•     •     •

Watching the Sunday night news, I wonder what others who have been through the horrors of a hurricane — such as Edgecombe County in 1999 and 2011 and the areas ravaged by Hurrican Katrina in 2005 — when they hear some of the complaints from those in the areas hit by Hurricane Sandy? No power after 12 days ... no garbage pickup. No GARBAGE pickup?

Perhaps the reality they lost only things and still have their lives will sink in at some point.

I’m struck by the fact that many of the same people who helped us in Bogalusa, La. are on the ground in New Jersey ... the yellow-shirted Baptist men, the Mennonites, the red-shirted Triangle of Hope Ministries of the Christian Church.

I wonder if some of the people on the Jersey shore who lost their homes and are talking about rebuilding were some who questioned why people should be allowed to rebuild in a hurricane/flood zone?

We’re reminded that whatever our plan, our Creator has a plan of His own and we do as He wishes.

(John H. Walker is editor and publisher of The Daily Southerner. He can be reached at 823-3106 or jwalker@dailysoutherner.com.)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013