The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

November 5, 2012

Spending obscene on election

TARBORO — Tuesday is election day in the United States and her territories. Even though we have been voting for the last 10 or so days in some states, the first Tuesday in November is when Americans go to the polls and elect our nation’s leaders.

Not meaning to offend supporters of one candidate or another, but this campaign has generated an obscene amount of spending on political advertising.

Obscene!

As of Friday, the two major candidates and the outside interests that support them, have spent $1,057,276,151 on television advertising alone.

On top of that, include the print media, the internet and mobile media and the radio.

A total of $130 million was spent in Ohio, Virginia, Florida, Nevada and Wisconsin alone last week!

How many homeless could that house? How many homes could it heat so that a child doesn’t go to bed cold tonight? What could we do with more than $1 billion in attacking anything — as long as we don’t mishandling like Washington is so adept at doing?

For a number of years now, I’ve felt as if the people could givern this land much better than many of these yahoos — Democrat and Republican alike — that we send to Washington.

When we were kids we called our own balls and strikes, and did a pretty good job. We called our own fouls when we played pick-up basketball games, and did a pretty good job.

I’m not so sure we couldn’t do a pretty good job at making the calls in Washington, too.

The problem is the fact we no longer have citizen politicians. Sadly enough, there’s no more room in Washington for a Jefferson Smith — but’s plenty of backroom wheeling and it’s all done on our nickle.

And that’s why I think we the people could do better — certainly no worse — than those who have come to think of their elected office as their “right.”

If fact, I’d have difficulty in separating them from Mitt Romney’s 47 percent who feel they are entitled.

We the people could do a better job as long as the focus remained on the fact it is our money we are spending, along with the realization that instead of building a power base, we are working for the common good.

Yes, help when help is needed and when it is due. Take care of our young and our elderly, for they are our history, our future and our legacy ... but a hand up is so much more effective — and productive — than a hand out.

Unless a few chads hang up someplace, we are no more than hours away from learning the outcome of this hotly contested race and the hope that the next four years are better than the last.

•     •     •

On election night, the staff of the Daily Southerner will report to work a bit later and remain a bit longer in hopes of being able to give you the national outcome.

Yes, we know you’ll get it from television and the internet before we can hit the street, but we hope to be able to give you a souvenir of this costly race to lead our nation.

(John H. Walker is editor and publisher of The Daily Southerner. He can be reached at 823-3106 or jwalker@dailysoutherner.com.)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013

Your Comments
AP Video
Facebook
Twitter Updates