The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

October 11, 2012

Revisiting Obamacare

HARPING

TARBORO — Obamacare was passed with the strong support of the Democrats and brilliant statement of Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi who said, "We must pass it to find out what's in it."  Of course, the bill was about 13,000 pages long, while both the Old Testament and New Testament of the Bible is just over 1,000 pages.  In any event I'm sure no member of Congress ever read all 13,000 pages.  Is this the way we should legislate laws in this country?

In many ways this bill is designed to drive private insurance companies out of business and to bring about a national healthcare system similar to that in Canada and some nations in Europe. This bill calls for an Independent Payment Advisory Board which will have the power to make almost unlimited decisions about what kind of healthcare we will receive.

There will be 15 members on this advisory board who will be appointed (not elected). They are to come up with ways to reduce the cost of Medicare.  Whatever this politically appointed board comes up with must be acted on by Congress by Aug. 15 of each year.  Suppose Congress does not act in a manner that achieves the level of cost containment called for, (remember, it's difficult for Congress to agree on anything) then what?

If Congress does not act in the manner dictated, the recommendations of the Independent Payment Advisory Board are no longer recommendations but they become the law. All this occurs without congressional approval or being signed into law by whoever is president at the time.

President Obama says that the IPAB can't make decisions about what medical treatments might be given to the patient.  However, since the all-powerful IPAB can control payments to hospitals and doctors this, in itself, controls what medical measures may be used to treat the patient or to ultimately save one's life?

However, according to President Obama, Congress can repeal IPAB, but only during a seven-month time frame in 2117.  Congress has rarely been able to do anything in seven months, and again according to Obama's terms, any repeal would call for a three-fifths majority in both the House and the Senate.  And, if congress can't achieve this, according to Obama, they are banned from ever altering IPAB proposals.

If this isn't a dictatorial policy, given birth by Nancy Pelosi, and a Democratic controlled congress in 2010, I don't know what would be.  Couple this with an Imperial President directing laws from the White House, and it's hard to tell if we still have some sort of democracy operating in this country or not.

Bottom line seems to be that we now have a non-elected advisory board (the IPAB) that can actually make laws.  It has the power to dictate what the powers of future Congresses will be.  The citizens of this nation are being told we have to accept all of these Obamacare orders, no matter what we the people want.  This is because a wonderful advisory board has been established to handle these things and keep us ignorant citizens from having to worry about making our own decisions.

There's no question that something has to be done to rein in the rising cost of Medicare, but the dictates of Obama or some all-powerful advisory board is not the answer. Experts have pointed out the major problem with Medicare is the amount of fraud that is taking place and the outrageous cost of this fraud. We are also advised that computer programs can be made available to red-flag these frauds and save enormous sums of money.  Let's do it.

IPAB must be stopped from making laws, which has been described as being "the most anti-constitutional measure ever to pass Congress."

This subject was brought up strongly by Mitt Romney in the first Presidential debate and caused Obama to fumble all over the place, trying to come up with logical answers to address this 800-pound gorilla of a problem.

He failed.

Under Obamacare even more income will be taken away from primary-care doctors who, in many cases, are losing money by taking Medicare and Medicaid patients.  It is estimated that the income of many doctors could drop by 15 percent to 20 percent. How many of us would like for the government to dictate this type of salary cut for us?

(Bob Harper is a local resident who writes a column of general interest.)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013