The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

July 22, 2013

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Your views

TARBORO — To the Editor:

Every day black folks who are talking about RACE on the level are afraid to talk about RACE publicly because they are afraid. They are afraid of how other folks, be they black, brown, white or whatever will look at them.

They are afraid of how their employer will look at them. They are afraid of retaliation that may come via through their children or just maybe other family members.

When I read about white privilege by whites like Tim Wise it is real. Every day white folks can feel comfortable about talking about RACE because of white privilege. We all know that this society has been basically white privilege at least all of my 50 years, so I know those older than I can relate even moreso.

I totally agree with the statement, "Had the accused and the victim both been black or both been white, the case might have attracted little attention. Indeed, this year alone, dozens of young black men like Trayvon Martin have died violent deaths in cities throughout the country. We don't know their names or faces because their deaths and the trials of the people accused of killing them haven't become grist for the cable television trial mill." I am so sick of black folks and white folks talking about the number of  black on black murders in Chicago. I am concerned about black on black crime be it in Chicago, North Carolina or  whereever. However, I am concerned about the high profile murder cases such as the Martin/Zimmerman case in Florida.

I want to talk about it all ... the Zimmerman case, the black on black crime and others, however, I don't want to talk about them all at one time because I do not believe we will accomplish anything trying to compare them all when they are not equal.

As for the Zimmerman case I want to know that from the standpoint of the letter of the law, everything was done correctly during the trial. I want to know that the jurors were there to seek justice for Trayvon and not only for Zimmerman. I have a problem with the trial and I did not follow it as closely as many but just reading about the trial from many different resources, I am having a problem with it appearing as if the jurors were seeking only justice for Zimmerman based on his report and their assumptions of what they felt he had to do. But Martin cannot tell his side of the story, so did the jurors try to figure out what Martin was up against?

I am concerned about how the incident began up until the time of contact. So, that is where I can follow the facts, but all I can do is assume what happened, such as who started the incident.

I just want to know jurors followed the letter of the law and when I feel that they did then I will look at the law and say there must be a change made within the law.

Now, what I do know is there is nothing new as it relates to white folks and others killing black men who were not doing anything wrong. This has gone on since slavery.

What tickles the heck out of me the most is ignorant safe negroes who get on TV and in other media who are ignorant to what is real and what is perceived.

To think that black men are not profiled is just too ignorant. Because of the safe negroes, the discussion will continue to be lost because that is who the white folks want to hear. This justifies their thoughts, so therefore, they feel the discussion about RACE is invalid.

Heck no, the discussion should not be about Zimmerman and black on black crime, but it should be separate but equal discussion on an individual note.

The struggle continues,

Curmilus Dancy II

Pinetops

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013