The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

July 22, 2013

People talking Tarboro’s future

TARBORO — There’s a healthy discussion under way in the community about involvement and looking for a mechanism to gather a group of people — size unknown — to discuss where we are as a community and where we might want to go.

The exciting point, from my perspective, is that this is a discussion being driven by folks who don’t hold an elective office and who don’t draw a check funded by the people.

I believe Tarboro finds itself at a potentially exciting crossroads. Over the past weeks, we’ve written about a new Walgreens, a new Bryan Drugs, a new Dollar General, Tarboro Brewing Co., a new Hibbett Sports, a new Edgecombe Events Center, an expanded Nash Building Systems and more. We’ve also written about new residents in the community who have come here to work at North East Carolina Prep.

We’ve written about Brian Schweberger’s year-long efforts to construct a disc golf course at Indian Lake Park and the killer line-up for the second Bluegrass Festival in September with groups coming in that have had a combined three No.1 songs nationally.

 All of those things, when dumped into a community’s melting pot, create the opportunity for great things to happen.

My wife and I once lived in a community where newcomers were called “come heres.” That meant you came here from somewhere else, so please keep your outsider ideas to yourself ... we like talking about how great things used to be and how wonderful it would be is someone turned things around to make them great once again.

Sadly, with an attitude like that, things were never going to change and the “come heres” went elsewhere.

The beauty of that community is that a lifetime resident who was as tired of hearing how great things used to be was elected mayor and the participation of the “come heres” was encouraged.

We’re ahead of that point here in Tarboro because the healthy discussion to which I referred includes natives, longtime residents and newcomers, alike.

It has the making of a good perfect storm in that this is a group of people ready for change and ready to make something happen for the benefit of the entire community.

We have a variety of empty buildings and we have green space. We have a community college and we have a community hospital, and both are on the upper end of the curve in regards to performance of duties.

We aren’t on an interstate — and that’s not necessarily bad — but we are on a major highway and we have a number of draws for the motorist heading down Highway 64. We simply need to get them to choose to take their driving break with us and that’s where disc golf and dog parks and microbreweries and the like come into play.

Every thing we do offers us the opportunity to get the name “Tarboro” in front of people and, from my days chairing the Convention and Visitors Bureau in Big Spring, Texas, everyone is a potential visitor.

And every potential visitor is a potential business operator and employer and every time we can get someone to pull off the highway and visit us, whether to check out the Common, play in a disc gold tournament or read the historical markers, we have the opportunity to sell out town to them so they will sell it to their friends.

Here’s hoping the discussion group is large and full of ideas ... count us in.

(John H. Walker is editor and publisher of The Daily Southerner and may be contacted at 823-3106 or jwalker@dailysoutherner.com)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013