The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

January 9, 2013

It’s all Bush’s fault, right?

TARBORO — Back in 1930 President Herbert Hoover made some bad mistakes when he first took office.  The stock market had just crashed and the country stumbled into The Great Depression.  It wasn’t Hoover’s fault, he had only been president about six months and he couldn’t have caused The Great Depression in that short period of time even if he had tried.  Also it was a world depression, not just here in the U.S.  Still, the decisions Hoover made were not good ones.  

Many people credit President Franklin Roosevelt with bringing the country out of The Great Depression, but he didn’t.  The country only emerged from the depression when we started mobilizing for World War II.  Still the Democratic Party blamed Hoover for The Great Depression and they continued to keep this as a political campaign slogan for the next twenty years, when finally Republican Dwight Eisenhower was elected president in1953.

So we see the blame game can work for a long period of time if the public doesn’t wise up to what’s going on.  The same blame game has been going on against President George W. Bush for at least five years now.

During Bush’s two terms as President he faced a number of crises, including 9/11/2001 when this nation was attacked and around three thousand lives were lost.  Remember the Japanese attack in December 1941 cost about two thousand lives.  In 1941 the Japanese targets were military; on 9/11/2001 the targets were all against innocent civilians.

So Bush, with the best intelligence available, and the backing of the majority of congress, ordered a military response.  The results were the capture, trial and death of Saddam Hussein.  Soon after that some liberals declared that this might be good for political purposes.  Many, on the left, wanted us to immediately pull our military out of this area.  Bad idea, as this would have given our enemies a free staging area to once again foster other attacks.  But, it did serve as a political purpose and Obama used it in his presidential election run.  After he was in office he was shown how it would be a bad military move, and so a postponement and slowdown was the decision.

But, as many of us know, truth doesn’t always matter when politics are involved.  Still President Bush’s first term was good enough for us to reelect him for another term.  This second term went relatively well also, although he did make some misstates, as all presidents do.  These few errors helped the Democrats capture both the House and Senate for his last two years of his term in office.

That’s when some of the real mischief began.  With the Democrats controlling both houses they decided that sub-prime mortgages were a wonderful thing, in that everyone should own a home no matter what their income was or what their credit rating was.  All of this was to be supervised Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.  But, Fannie and Freddie weren’t supervising…they needed supervision.

The Bush administration sought to create a new agency to carry out such supervision, but this reform was blocked by Senate Democrats, including the blocking vote of Senator Obama.  All this spread the contagion that started to melt our financial system.

This was a huge factor in the biggest stock market crash since the 1930s.  In 2008 the market (as represented by the S&P 500 Index) fell over 36 percent and many stocks fell over 50 percent.  “So what!” some people might say.  “Only rich Wall Street billionaires are affected by the stock market, why should I worry.”

Well, if you have a 401 (K), IRA or almost any kind of retirement plan, including a refined plan that might go belly-up, you just might be concerned.  Also the condition of the stock market can have a strong effect on how our economy will perform.

It seems that whoever is President (the guy whose watch it’s on) will get the blame, no matter what Congress does.  I suppose this might be true no matter which political party is in control.

President George W. Bush did many things while he was President…some good, some maybe not so good.  However, he did one other thing that’s getting some attention now.  President Bush cut taxes.  And, that’s getting some real attention now.

It seems that most of President Bush’s tax cuts have been restored.  With a large majority of Democrats in Congress virtually all of Bush’s tax cuts (about 98 percent) are back.  Jennifer Rubin writing for The Washington Post said it best.  “George W. Bush has a legacy that is becoming more impressive with time.”  Rubin also quoted Kevin Hasset at the American Enterprise Institutes, “After everything settles, people of both parties will have to agree that this was a big win for Bush.  Almost all of Bush’s favored tax policies have become a permanent part of the tax code.”

All of this does not mean that everything has changed.  We still have leadership that believes that “Tax and spend” and higher and higher debt is the way to go.  But, it is hopeful that good decisions can still be made in Washington.

(Bob Harper is a Tarboro resident who writes a twice-monthly column of general interest.)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013