The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

October 1, 2012

Vote ‘yes’ for ECC quarter-cent sales tax

TARBORO — This summer I had the opportunity to talk about my role as president of Edgecombe Community College (ECC) as part of the Edgecombe County Public Library’s story time. As I began, I asked more than 50 children if they had ever heard of Edgecombe Community College. Hands popped up all over the room.

“Do you know anyone who has ever attended Edgecombe?” I asked. Little voices rang out, “My mother goes to Edgecombe … my father went to Edgecombe … my sister… .” I explained that my “school” was different from their school in that “grownups” go to my school—grownups like police officers, fire fighters, nurses, teachers, and auto mechanics.

I explained that grownups learn the skills they need to get a job and be successful at my school. We continued talking about our “schools,” and I ended my time with the children by saying, “I hope that when you grow up you will choose to attend ECC.” Hands sprang up and voices exclaimed, “I want to go to ECC!” “Great!” I said, “I’ll see you there!”

Why would these children know someone who attends or who has attended ECC? Because the college serves more than 14,000 people a year in both curriculum and continuing education courses.

It would be difficult to find many citizens in Edgecombe County who have not been touched by the college in some way — either directly or indirectly. Citizens have either graduated from the college or have taken classes, or they have family or friends who have been enrolled. Those who haven’t attended have received a service from a graduate: they’ve received care by a nurse, they’ve had an X-ray at a hospital, they’ve used an electrician at their home, and the list goes on.

Enrollment has grown exponentially since 1967 when the college was first established. The campus footprint has grown as well to keep up with the increase in student enrollment. The college has expanded from a single building on the Tarboro campus to a multi-campus college with a second campus on the Edgecombe side of Rocky Mount. The college’s total footprint covers 125 acres with 11 buildings. Our facilities have served us well over the years, but as the college increases in student enrollment and expands its programs and services to meet workplace demands, space is at a premium.

The college has the opportunity to address its space needs in the future with the help of Edgecombe County voters. The Edgecombe County Commissioners have approved a ? cent sales tax referendum on the November 6 ballot.

If passed, the sales tax proceeds will enable Edgecombe Community College to move forward with the planning, design, and construction of its top two priorities:

• The Biotechnology and Simulation Center on the Rocky Mount campus

• The Workforce Training Center on the Tarboro campus

Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013

Your Comments
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Facebook
Twitter Updates