The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

May 27, 2013

Give thanks to our fallen today

TARBORO — Today is Memorial Day. It is the day officially set aside to honor those men and women who have died in service to our nation.

While Waterloo N.Y. was officially declared the birthplace of Memorial Day by President Lyndon Johnson in May 1966, it’s difficult to prove conclusively the origins of the day. It is more likely that it had many separate beginnings; each of those towns and every planned or spontaneous gathering of people to honor the war dead in the 1860’s tapped into the general human need to honor our dead.

On May 5, 1868, in General Order No. 11, Gen. John Logan giving his official proclamation that May 30,1868 would be designated as Memorial Day. On that day, flowers were placed on the graves of both Confederate and Union soldiers in Arlington National Cemetery.

Before that, though, what we now know as Memorial Day had its beginnings in Friendship Cemetery in Columbus, Miss.

There, in April, 1866, the ladies and school children of Columbus wanted to observe “Decoration Day” when flowers would be placed on the graves of 2,194 Confederate soldiers and one Confederate nurse.

The story is told — and documented in the archives of the Columbus Dispatch newspaper — that the wives and mothers and daughters, as they placed flowers on the dead of Confederate fallen, noticed the graves of 54 Union soldiers.

Knowing they would want their loves to not die faraway from home with no one to care, they placed flowers on the Union graves as well.

Decoration Day became a tradition that was picked up by other cities, was renamed Memorial Day and became a national holiday early in the 20th century, observed on the last Monday in May to honor any American lost in war..

Today, there will be observances of varying degree across the nation, from the huge gathering in Washington, DC to communities such as Thomasville, N.C. and Bogalusa, La. — where communities gather for parades and somber observances in memory of those who served, but are no longer among the living.

Here at home, the Pilot Club of Tarboro has taken responsibility to ensure our fallen are not forgotten. At 3 p.m. today at the memorial on the Town Common, there will be an official observance of the National Moment of Remembrance, which will be followed by a flag ceremony conducted by the Tarboro High School JROTC, including the playing of “Taps.”

The observance will also take place inside Piggly Wiggly, as store owner Kenny Honeycutt asks his employees and customers alike to remember those who made the supreme sacrifice.

At 3 p.m., all citizens are to pause and cease all activities by observing a moment of remembrance for one minute. It can be a simple gesture, such as placing your hand over your heart, bowing your head or offering a prayer.

While the Moment of Remembrance is not designed to replace any Memorial Day activity, but rather help educate Americans about the meaning of Memorial Day.

The Moment of Remembrance had its beginnings in 1996, when Carmelia LaSpada, founder of No Greater Love, met a group of schoolchildren touring Washington, DC. She asked them what Memorial Day meant to them and they responded, “That’s the day the pool opens.”

That response directly led to the creation of the National Moment of Remembrance on Memorial Day. In 2000, No Greater Love asked Congress to officially establish the National Moment of Remembrance, to ensure the sacrifices of the dead of all our wars, conflicts, training accidents and the thousands who have died as a result of war’s emotional wounds are remembered.

Today, let’s give pause to remember our men and women who gave their all. While they were all soldiers or sailors or airmen or Marines, they were also a sons, daughters, brothers, sisters, fathers and mothers.

They fought for our freedom and they deserve our respect and undying gratitude.



(John H. Walker is editor and publisher of The Daily Southerner. He can be reached at 823-3106 or editor @dailysoutherner.com)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013

Your Comments
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Facebook
Twitter Updates