The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

January 14, 2013

Will ‘13 slow our moral decline?

TARBORO — There’s a photo pf a team of draft horses pulling a plow out at Eddie Dail’s farm on Saturday as he hosted his fourth annual old-time farm days.

As is often the case, my intentions were to get out there and get some time driving a tractor, but dreary weather and about 100 pounds of pecans — mixed into about a billion leaves — took precedent.

My interest in climbing up on a tractor stemmed from the fact that I learned how to drive on an old, Case Eagle-hitch tractor.

Daddy managed about 2,500 acres of cotton, along with acreage planting in oats and soybeans, and there was a lot of open space where  youngster couldn’t run in to anything once the fields had been plowed under after the harvest.

•     •     •

Daddy had two mules that were still on the place and, honestly, except for pulling a single-headed plow to open up the turnrows after a heavy rain, I don’t remember anything else they were used for.

I do remember the summer of 1960 or so, when those two mules were stricken by anthrax and had to be put down.

The pen where they were kept was on a little field road on which I would ride my bicycle and Daddy told me to stay away because the mules were sick.

I remember hearing those shotgun blasts the day they were put down. I guess if I had known it was coming, it would have been more jolting to me.

Watching my Daddy’s reaction when he came to the house for supper helps me think I understand, as an adult, part of why he never had a lot to do with guns.

After that, any time it rained enough for water to stand in the turnrows, Daddy and I would put on our black, rubber knee boots and grab a couple of hoes as we walked the fields to help the water drain.

•     •     •

Granny Walker still had a mule when I was growing up and used him to plow the gardens she had scattered all over the country.

One of the things she used that old mule for, though, was her cane mill — where five- and six-foot stalks of sugar cane were fed into a corkscrew-type press and the juices squeezed out.

Granny would take the juices and, as he mother and grandmother had done, make cane syrup.

And I can tell you, that syrup was pretty darned good poured over Granny’s big, old cats head biscuits that we had pinched up on a plate!

•     •     •

Technological advances have been many in agriculture and it’s important that our young folks learn how things were once done.

I remember the short, wooden-sided trailers into which sack after sack of cotton picked by hand was dumped.

Daddy kept a little spiral notebook in his shirt pocket and would get it out when it was time to weigh out for the day.

Everyone who picked had their own page, where their weights were written for the week. At the end of the day, Mama would run the numbers on an old 10-key adding machine just to double check ... although Daddy’s math skills were never to be challenged.

At the end of the week came payday — $3 per 100 pounds picked. My rate of pay for carrying buckets of water out into the fields was that same $3 — a day.

I didn’t mind it when technology took my job!



(John H. Walker is editor and publisher of The Daily Southerner. He can be reached at 823-3106.)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013