The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

August 6, 2012

Olympics: It’s hard to not be jingoistic

TARBORO — Sitting in from of the television, it’s hard not to be jingoistic when you see some young American on the top step of the Olympics award stand, gold medal around their neck and hand over their heart as they sing the Star Spangled Banner.

There’s that bit of pride that swells quickly as you see the Stars and Stripes above the other flags ... and, I guess, for those of us from the Cold War era and older, it means a little bit more when the trailing flags are from one of those nations that caused so much concern in that older era.

It’s been enjoyable to watch the British fans, as well, as I think their national pride rivals that of ours and, on some occasions, exceeds it.

For me, there have been some memorable moments — Gabby Douglas’ winning of the all-around title, Mo Farah and Galen Rupp finishing one-two in the 10,000 meters and then celebrating and, of course, Michael Phelps’ entry into the record books.

•     •     •

We encourage your participation in National Night Out on Tuesday and hope you will look for ways for it to grow.

In Big Spring, Texas, we at the Herald co-sponsored it with the Big Spring Police and Howard County Sheriff’s Department and had night out parties all across the county.

There were neighborhood cookouts held in vacant lots and residents on our street, which was two blocks long, gathered for watermelon, hamburgers, hotdogs, ice cream and music.

NNO is a great opportunity to get to know your neighbors and develop a relationship, even if it is just a passing one.

Remember ... if you recognize the faces of the people who are supposed to be in your neighborhood, it means you also recognize the faces of those who are passing through for one reason or another.

•     •     •

I had someone ask me why a particular story was published in the other Edgecombe County daily and not in our newspaper.

It was, they pointed out, a story that related to a number of Edgecombe County kids — including Tarboro, Pinetops and Macclesfield.

The story sounded familiar, but I told them I would check and get back with them ... and when I did, I was able to tell them we had published the story three weeks earlier.

It’s like several stories that were included in our competitors paper on Sunday ... the end of school test results that we had Friday, the Trunks for Success story we ran the Monday after the event and the Edgecombe 4H winners at State Congress that we had 11 days ago.

We don’t have the staff of that newspaper, which does a very good job of covering the news in its community, but we try to do a very good job of covering the news in our community.

And, as always, we invite and encourage your feedback. We know there will be times we get beaten on a story ... but we’ll always strive to do our best to give you a balanced and complete report.

And since you were, thanks for reading!



(John H. Walker is editor and publisher of The Daily Southerner and may be contacted at 823-3106 or editor@dailysoutherner.com.)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013