The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

July 3, 2013

Hospitals facing challenging times

TARBORO — There are significant issues currently being debated at state and national levels that present challenges to your health system's ability to continue to fulfill the promise of care to the residents of eastern North Carolina.

On the federal level, implementation of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) will cost North Carolina hospitals more than $7 billion over the next decade through the reductions in Medicare payments and support for the care of the poor. For Vidant Health, the cumulative impact of these cuts over the next 10 years exceeds $500 million. Over the next five years, we will see a 50 percent reduction in our net income, all of which is used to maintain the care of the people of this region.

The governor and the North Carolina state Senate have proposed reducing hospital Medicaid outpatient payment rates from 80 percent of the cost of care to 70 percent. This reduction would harm all of our hospitals, especially those located in rural communities, which typically provide more outpatient care, and serve more patients covered by Medicaid. Government programs pay for more than 70 percent of patients treated at Vidant Health hospitals and clinics, with rates below the cost of care.

The N.C. Senate is proposing a tax reform package that would have tremendous consequences on all hospitals in North Carolina, drastically increasing the taxes that Vidant Health pays over a four-year period. As a not-for-profit system that uses all of its revenue for the care of patients regardless of patient's ability to pay for care, Vidant Health does not pay corporate taxes and receives a reimbursement for the sales tax paid on supplies purchased for the care of patients. Vidant Health provided more than $159 million in unreimbursed care last year (including charity care, bad debt, Medicare). The proposed change in taxes could cost us 30 percent of our annual revenue, greatly reducing our ability to provide patient care, especially in rural areas.

State-operated alcohol and drug treatment centers, such as the Walter B. Jones Alcohol and Drug Abuse Treatment Center in Greenville, are also at risk of closure under the proposed budget. These patients have no other current options for care. Our hospitals are neither staffed nor equipped to assume the important and difficult care of these patients, which would then strain emergency departments.

Care for patients in behavioral health, obstetrics and diabetes education is now provided with reimbursement that is less than it costs to provide these services. These services may be cut to maintain other essential services offered to the community and keep the hospital and clinic doors open.

While our hospitals are in place to fulfill life-saving missions, we account for (directly and indirectly) 10 percent of jobs in North Carolina. More than one-half of all health care costs are staff.

Gov. Pat McCrory and members of the General Assembly have been elected to represent our interests as citizens of North Carolina. I encourage you to tell our elected officials how these laws affect your community hospitals' ability to provide quality care for everyone who walks in their doors.



(Dr. David Herman is CEO of Vidant Health, which provides care to more than 1.4 million people throughout eastern North Carolina. We are a system of 10 hospitals, over 50 physician practices, wellness centers, home health and hospice and more than 350 providers in 29 counties.

Vidant Health has more than 12,000 employees and, in 2010, contributed more than $2.4 billion to the gross regional product in eastern N.C.)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013