The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

November 26, 2012

Give thanks on a daily basis

TARBORO — Al and Connie Hull were busy showing off grandbaby photos to Bernice and Mears Pitt on Black Friday morning while inside the garden center at Marrow Pitt, a mother and father shopped for a Christmas tree and their children scouted out gifts in the Fawn Shop.

 The afternoon before, daughter-in-law Laura had sent us a text message relating 5-year-old Dominick’s latest eye-opening question — “What’s a turkey coma?”

He was told he would know as soon as he woke up from his nap.

Whether it’s kids or grandkids, good friends or good health, we all have something for which to be thankful.

As humans, we always want more. We never have enough or whatever it is we think we need ... but is that really the case?

We complain of a cold floor on a wintry morning, yet fail to think about those who rise to no floor ... or worse still, no heat.

We complain because the meal we were served at a restaurant wasn’t exactly to our liking, but we fail to think about the youngsters in our very community who go to sleep with the pain of hunger in their little stomachs.

There is no end to the list of things we can find to complain about, yet how often do we stop and think about the many undeserved blessings we receive on a daily basis?

I’ll bet you can think of something you take for granted, can’t you?

We aren’t owed anything in life, yet we seem to think we are — whether it be some benefit by an employer or the government or something by a friend or family member.

I’ve found that through the years, despite what I might have felt at the time, the Lord has provided extremely well for me and mine.

I’ll admit to a period where I was put through a trial of faith and it was tougher than any classroom exam I’ve ever experienced.

I had gotten on a high horse after some success in this business and freely talked about what I had done ... when ALL I had done was use the talents and abilities the Lord had given me and take advantage of the talented people He had placed around me to accomplish a goal.

Instead of giving thanks and acknowledgement, I laid claim and the Lord gave me the opportunity to learn the lesson of humility.

Today, I’m thankful for that lesson, as harsh as it was, for I believe I’m a better person because of one more gift given me by my Lord.

What do you have for which to be thankful?

How long has it been since you’ve gone to the Lord and given thanks for the many blessings you and yours have received?

You don’t have to wait until you go to church or to bed to go to the Lord in prayer. I find some of my best talks with Him come as Bridget and I go on one of our daily walks ... as He greets us with the rising sun in the morning and guides us by the light of the moon and twinkling stars at night.

It’s on those days when I find the lyrics of that old, Southern gospel hymn have it oh, so right: “Just a little talk with Jesus makes it right.”

And with that, I’ll ask again, “What do you have for which to be thankful?”

From our house to your house, Stephanie, Bridget and I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

(John H. Walker is editor and publisher of The Daily Southerner. He can be reached at 823-3106 or jwalker@dailysoutherner.com.)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013

Your Comments
AP Video
Facebook
Twitter Updates