The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

March 27, 2013

Your Views

TARBORO — To the Editor:

In response to the column by Bob Harper, “Voter ID causing a great flap”, I have a few thoughts to share.  This is the first time in my memory that Mr. Harper has written about something being provided free to citizens by the government (IDs for those without one) without stating that nothing is free, and complaining that the cost is taken out his taxes. So enfranchising voters must surely be one cause he is passionate about.

It shouldn’t cost that much, relatively speaking, for the final step of handing out the actual ID. It is all the prior steps that I am surprised he is willing to pay for. For example, hiring and training the extra personnel to take the ID photos, and buying and maintaining the machines and obtaining the ID material.

Before that, sixthly, the state will have to pay for birth certificates and other documentation for those without one.  After all, this is one of the major reasons why a person doesn’t already have an ID, and without free documentation, the ID isn’t free.  Don’t forget that fifthly, transportation must also be provided to courthouses and government agencies here and in other states for these records. Fourthly, add gas at the current cost.  This is after thirdly, setting up a phone bank and training staff to answer the public’s questions and arrange the logistics, which is while advertising and publicizing the new requirement.  These expenses will most likely accrue over the next two years, as the only logical time frame is the same as the next major election cycle.  And secondly, additional provisional balloting procedures will be needed in 2014 if some citizens miss paying attention to this new unnecessary law.

This is starting to sound like a large tax burden on Mr. Harper.  But the largest expense to the state may be the first requirement, solving the problem of identity theft and ending it 100 percent.  After all, what good is a laminated driver’s license-style ID if I go to the polls and find out that an identity thief has counterfeited an ID and already cast my vote?  Right now, I am not worried that someone would try to impersonate me at the polls.  But what if someone flashed a phony ID at a distracted, busy poll worker.  If that’s the only step taken, don’t say it can’t happen.  At least as often as any previous fraud.  

Identity fraud already exists and is easier to perpetrate if you are only glancing at a photo instead of the thoughtful process we now use. And despite Mr. Harper’s willingness for his taxes to be used for all these expenses, certainly the state has many more pressing needs and opportunities where it could be better spent.  Especially given the absence of documented evidence of massive voter fraud.

Melanie Goff Bradley

Rocky Mount

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013

Your Comments
AP Video
Facebook
Twitter Updates