The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

November 19, 2012

Why Twinkies and not the union?

TARBORO — I found it offensive to watch members of the Bakery, Confectionery, Tobacco Workers and Grain Millers International Union in Rocky Mount celebrating the demise of Hostess.

As is always the case in contract negotiations, there are very few who know the entire story, but according to published information, Hostess is said to have asked the union workers to take a $2 per hour pay cut and pay an increased portion of their health care costs.

Rather than bite the bullet like so many Americans have, the union celebrated when Hostess said it had no choice but to cease operations.

So tell me ... what difference does it make that you “stood your ground” when you you wound up standing on quicksand?

Rather than take a $2 cut to $13 an hour, you’d rather keep your $15 wage — without any hours!

That’s okay ... even though his comment wound up hurting him, you are among the 47 percent Mitt Romney referred to at a fundraiser.

It doesn’t matter to you because the new America ... the socialist America ... will take from the wealthy to ensure you have provisions.

I would ask you to remember the words of Thomas Jefferson, who said, “The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not.”

In later years, there brands other than Twinkies and Wonder Bread ... there were Ho-Hos, Ding Dongs and Zingers and they are now selling online like the great sellers they always were.

I remember a couple of other products ... Hostess Cupcakes and Snoballs. and, of course, there was always the claim that Wonder Bread built strong bodies 12 ways.

It’s a shame it’s Hostess folding and not the union.

•     •     •

Last Thursday, four American war heroes were killed when the tractor trailer on which they were riding was struck by a Union Pacific freight train in Midland, Texas.

I’ve crossed that Garfield Street crossing probably hundreds of times from the time I live in Midland and Odessa.

From my days in the Midland Jaycees, I had friends who worked in a strip center close by -- Johnny Cappadonna owned an electric company and Max Reneau sold office equipment.

I don’t know how you don’t see a train coming at that crossing. First, the terrain is as flat as a pancake and the tracks are built up a bit. Because of the traffic from Business U.S. 80, all of those crossings down through there have been heavily signalized for years — those that are still open, that is.

That these heroes would survive the rigors of war, a Midland Mayor Wes Perry noted, then be killed on a city street, is hard to fathom.

In the Permian Basin, Midland is home to the Commemorative Air Force and  the Permian Basin Vietnam Memorial. Some 40 miles to the east, in Big Spring, is one of the finest Vietnam Memorials in our land and it was built by folks like Jerry Groves and Gene Wilson and the late Jackie Tibbitts and the late Ron York.

Just like Tarboro, that part of the world truly loves, honors and respects our veterans and the hurt and grief they are feeling at the loss of these four heroes can only be imagined.

We never know when it’s time. That’s why it is so important to always thank someone for a kindness and to tell those we love that we do love them.



(John H. Walker is editor and publisher of The Daily Southerner. He can be reached at 823-3106 or jwalker@dailysoutherner.com.)

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013

Your Comments
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Facebook
Twitter Updates