The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

March 25, 2013

Spring and snow just don’t go together

TARBORO — A check of the calendar tells us that spring arrived last Thursday while my memory reminds me we saw snow flakes flying by in that March wind throughout much of the day.

With Easter this coming Sunday, I’m reminded of a wet Good Friday snow in West Texas that brought anywhere from six inches in Big Spring to 18 inches in Sweetwater on April 5, 1996.

The wind that day was straight off the Polar ice cap and the snow was horizontal much of the time. In fact,the wind compacted the snow so much that it was more that six inches thick on the sides of utility poles in front of the Big Spring Herald.

On Saturday, it was almost completely gone.

Mom and Dad always warned of an Easter freeze and the weather this year seems conducive to such a phenomena of Mother Nature.

•     •     •

The effort to raise funds for the Edgecombe County Relay for Life are well under way and there are a number of ways you can help support this most worthy cause.

A proclamation was signed last week by Mayor Donald Morris to proclaim “Paint the County Purple” for Relay for Life.

The annual purple ribbon blitz is upcoming and members of the Bosom Buddies team are now selling their ribbons, which are pink and purple.

•     •     •

A combination of stories in today’s newspaper gives us a snapshot of the economy, which still seems to be showing some improvement.

One is the fact 400 persons took part in last Friday’s job fair at Edgecombe Community College and the other is that the January unemployment rate in the county was 16.6 percent, which represents a 37-month high.

The key to lowering the rate, in addition to the obvious one of creating more jobs, is to have a better prepared workforce.

By and large, ours, we’re afraid, is ill-prepared to actively engage in the digital marketplace. It’s too bad for some that texting and twitter are not job skills, as there seems to be an abundance of folks who have mastered that but have difficulty with basic social skills.

•     •     •

In a story that will be in this newspaper later in the week, State Rep. Joe Tolson has been successful in advancing four bills he sponsored that relate to digital education.

Two of those bills have been signed into law by the governor and the remaining two are working their way through the senate.

(John H. Walker is editor and publisher of The Daily Southerner. He may be reached at 823-3106 or jwalker@dailysoutherner.com)

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013