The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

March 23, 2007

Hall of Fame needs nominations

The Twin County Hall of Fame is homeless.

Plans to house the museum inside the new Imperial Centre in Rocky Mount fell apart when officials said it would take a million dollars to build an addition.

Nevertheless, Chris Miller has not lost faith. The Hall of Fame was her idea as far back as 1996, before she was elected to Rocky Mount City Council.

So far, there have been three classes inducted, 31 people, most with Edgecombe County ties.

The deadline for nominations for the 2007 class is April 30. The official nomination form is required. It is available on the Web at: www.rockymount travel.com. Click on History, then Twin County Hall of Fame. Call 977-1438 for more information.

A secret committee of seven makes the selections.

The Twin County Hall of Fame was begun "to honor citizens of Edgecombe and Nash counties who have made broad and lasting contributions to the betterment of the community or who have brought recognition to the community through their accomplishments.

"By recognizing these individuals, the Hall of Fame hopes to stimulate an interest in and an appreciation for the value of the history of this community and its citizens."

Attendance at the three induction banquets and ceremonies has been outstanding. I think the Hall should "visit" Tarboro, in the AC&T; Center's Mobley Atrium or at the Blount-Bridgers House. Maybe that would help spark interest – and help educate more of us on who these remarkable men and women are.

Unfortunately, the names of those who have been inducted are not listed at that Web site. Several Edgecombe County residents have been inducted. They are:

The inaugural class in 2004: Thomas Battle, a banker who has been called “the father of Rocky Mount; educator Kanawha ZeBlon Chavis; nuclear physicist Harold Ray Denton; communications pioneer Spencer K. Fountain; Big Band leader Kay Kyser; baseball great Buck Leonard; Dr. Milton Quigless Sr. of Tarboro; retired Army Gen. Hugh Shelton of Speed; Rocky Mount High School and University of North Carolina athlete Danny Talbott.

Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013