The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Opinion

August 20, 2012

Prince administration upset with LGC’s investigation

Your Views

TARBORO — To the Editor:

Commissioner Ann Howell and Commissioner Gwendolyn Knight have done it again, leaking out false information. Commissioner Gwendolyn Knight was at the Town Hall and she knows the restraining order clearly states that she cannot be within fifty feet and no communication with Interim Town Manager Maggie Boyd unless there is a Board Meeting. Guess what? There was no Board Meeting. Commissioner Gwendolyn Knight should be in contempt of court.  

This is always typical of Vance Holloman, Deputy Treasurer and Sharon Edmundson, Director of Fiscal Management (LGC) without investigating the truth. Commissioner Ann Howell and Commissioner Gwendolyn Knight were at the Town of Princeville on Monday, August 6, 2012 to tell some of Vance Holloman and Sharon Edmundson’s (LGC) Staff concerning credit cards fraud. When Sharon Edmundson heard about what these two Commissioners had said, she decided to write a letter to Mayor Oates and the Board of Commissioners on Tuesday, August 7, 2012 without consulting Maggie Boyd, Interim Town Manager, to get the documents as evidence of proof which is on file at the Town Hall. Commissioner Ann Howell and Commissioner Gwendolyn Knight gave Calvin Adkins this document that was not public records. Adkins stated that Mayor Oates charged the credit card 133 times without documentations. This is a lie and it’s not even in the public records of the auditor’s report. These lies will be forward to my personal lawyer.  Sharon Edmundson and Staff are at the Town Hall almost every day. Surely they could have taken the time to pull the documents. Not only is Vance Holloman and Sharon Edmundson is working their staff at Town Hall, but they are also working Princeville Staff, in which LGC stated they were only going to work their own Staff. LGC sited (sic) and gave the Town a warning in order for the Former Finance officer not to be anywhere around the books nor having anything to do with finances. Listen to this, she is working with LGC Staff every day with the finances, checks, account payable, everything. LGC Staff has gotten the Town’s mail box key and is opening up all the town mails, which are town administrative duties.

If Sharon Edmundson (LGC) had taken the time to look, she would have noticed that all the transactions that were made, was town’s business related, with proof of documents, receipts attached, filed by the Town’s Clerk, and was approved by the Former Manager and Budget Officer, Victor Marrow. Victor Marrow was the one who opened credit cards accounts for all the town policemen to use for fuel, without the Board approval. It was under Maggie Boyd’s management to collect all the credit card from the town policemen. Ms. Boyd gave Chief Petway one credit card for him and the other officers to use for fuel. Ms. Boyd instructed Chief Petway to be the one to monitor it by using a log sheet. It should have been Sharon Edmundson (LGC) Code of Ethics duties to produce proof of evidence before she makes anything public records. We will make sure our personal lawyers receive a copy of LGC’s letter dated August 7, 2012 and was submitted by Sharon Edmundson (LGC).

In conclusion, leaving it up to Calvin Adkins, Staff Writer of Daily Southerner, any bad news sells faster than anything that is good and completely true. We truly believe that you just cannot handle the truth, which is the main reason why we do not response to you, just like we could not response to Terry Smith.  Isn’t that right, Calvin?

Mayor Oates

Mayor Pro-Tem Andrews

Commissioner Sherrod

Town Of Princeville

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The legacy of Joe W. Dickens Jr.'s dash

    Joe W. Dickens Jr.
    Sept. 14, 1953 - March 21, 2014
    The above statement is profound in its own way. It signifies the birth and the death of one of the most influential men in Edgecombe Coun

    March 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    On July 28, 911 was called because my husband had a bad headache. I was transferred to communications in Edgecombe County, where I spoke to a female operator. I informed her I needed Rescue because my husband had a bad headache and gave her our address and telephone number.

    September 26, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Sheriff Knight’s “guys” may have worked hard on the case concerning Melvin Ray Fox, but did they really? Probably not for the sheriff, but for someone else behind the scenes. Not condoning Mr. Fox for his crime, because he should be punished, but not necessarily in the manner of leaving behind his wife as well as his 3-, 5- 7- and 13-year-old children.

    September 10, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    Concerning the Tarboro High 2013 Vikings football team: They have heart and desire. That was shown Friday night versus Washington. Just like last year’s state championship game, we got behind against a very good team. The Vikings didn’t quit even though they had several injuries throughout the game.  Right up to the last minute we had a chance  but, things didn’t go our way.

    September 5, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    It appears Mr. (Garland) Shepheard is shaking up things in our fair city according to a recent Daily Southerner article. Hurrah for him. This citizen, for one, believes the status quo needs a little shake up.
    I don’t know if Mr. Shepheard is disrespectful with his words and/or
    actions at council meetings or not. I don’t attend them any longer. It isn’t that I don’t care that some residents may suggest.

    September 4, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Having just recently read the front page article in The Daily Southerner regarding Councilman Shepheard’s issues with the Tarboro town manager, I was left with more questions than answers.
    The article states that  Mr. Shepheard’s reasons for not voting in favor of extending the town manager’s contract had to do with “deplorable conditions of three town facilities, Thornton’s hiring practices and giving the council what he said was false information.” That’s it.  That’s all the information we were given.

    September 2, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    So who are you Mr. Allen Dennie Jr.? I have never heard of you. I have tried to find your voter registration on the North Carolina State Board of Elections website and I can't find it.
    Somebody said that you have an impressive resume. I say and ?
    But what I find interesting is the following. Mr. Dennie the current Sheriff is the following: "The sheriff of any county should be a person who has a personal interest in the citizens that work live and visit their county,"

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am glad that opinions are being expressed regarding my actions at the Town Council meetings,  both by Mr. Walker and Mr. Wooten.
    It is my intention to expose the concerns expressed to me by the taxpayers of Tarboro, and when I find something that causes Tarboro not to be the Town we can all be proud of, I will speak up. I was told by people in Ward 8 when I ran for this office not to be like the rest of the Council and I expressed that to the members. The problems that exist in Tarboro should not have to be aired in public or at the Town Council Meetings and there should not be any discord.

    August 18, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    I am writing out of concern about disc golf. We as a town need to consider projects that have been given to (parks and recreation director) Cheryl Gay before this disc golf came along — like a walking trail at Clark Park, repairing the bathrooms, making sure the playground equipment is up-to-date and finding out what happen to the lights on the baseball field before we find money for disc golf. The town needs to consider what we been discussing in these last couple of meetings about recreation. I would love to see the Clark Park baseball field turned into a kickball field, which is a sport that everybody knows how to play, before you consider disc golf.
    Greg Higgs,
    Tarboro

    August 15, 2013

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR

    To the Editor:
    Monday night at the Town Council meeting (Aug. 12, 2013), I witnessed some the most disruptive,vitriolic and asinine behavior that I’ve ever seen, in the person of (Ward 8) councilman Garland Shepheard.  For several months, his behavior has grown progressively worse and it seems to embolden him to waste my time, the time of the other council members and the time of other citizens who care enough about Tarboro to attend council meetings.

    August 15, 2013