The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

July 15, 2013

20 candidates file for election with one week left


TARBORO — With five more days remaining to file for the 2013 municipal election, the Edgecombe County Board of Elections is bracing for a busy week.

So far, 20 candidates have filed, including nine incumbents. Seats that are yet to be filed for are Princeville Ward 4, currently held by Isabelle Purvis-Andrews and Tarboro Town Council Ward 7, held by Taro Knight.

All but one of the incumbent mayors have filed — Princeville's Priscilla Everette-Oates. Milton Bullock has filed for that seat.

Incumbent mayor Linda Ingram has filed for her Conetoe post, and Tarboro Ward 3 councilman Rick Page has filed for mayor. Page is hoping to replace Donald Morris, who chose not to run.  Stephen Burnette has filed for Page's seat.

Two Tarboro council seats are contested. with Ward 5 incumbent Candis Owens being challenged by former Ward 5 councilman John Jenkins and Ward 1 incumbent Gerrelene Walker facing retired Tarboro police officer Carl Benson.

Only two seats are up for election in Pinetops and incumbents Suzanne L. Craig and Joyce Tolson have filed for reelection.

The first day of filing, July 5, was perhaps the biggest with eight candidates filing. Since then 12 more candidates have filed.

“It has been going smoothly so far,” said Jerry Spruell, Edgecombe County Board of Elections director. “Just about every seat has been filed for and we still have another week to go.”

Filing will continue until noon Friday with the election is slated for Tuesday, Nov. 5.

CANDIDATES (listed by municipality)

Jesse Pettaway                Conetoe commissioner

Linda Ingram                    Conetoe mayor

Mike Keel                          Macclesfield mayor

Trey Lewis                         Macclesfield mayor

Suzanne L. Craig               Pinetops commissioner

Joyce Tolson                      Pinetops commissioner

Milton Bullock                    Princeville mayor

Calvin Sherrod                   Princeville Ward 4

Ruben Blackwell                Rocky Mount Ward 2

Tamisha Patterson             Rocky Mount Ward 3

Lamont Wiggins                 Rocky Mount Ward 3

Stephen Burnette               Tarboro Ward 3

Gerrelene Walker               Tarboro Ward 1

John Jenkins                      Tarboro Ward 2

Carl Benson                       Tarboro Ward 1

Rick Page                           Tarboro mayor

Candis Owens                    Tarboro Ward 2

George Albert Wright Jr.     Whitakers commissioner

Frances Lynch                    Whitaker commissioner

Doris Lindsey                      Whitakers commissioner