The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Local News

June 24, 2013

Filing for municipal election begins July 5

TARBORO — With the candidates filing period for the 2013 municipal election beginning soon, so for, only one person have filed for one of several races that could be deemed "interesting."

The first day for candidate filing is set to begin noon July 5 and ends noon July 19 on the fourth floor of the Edgecombe County Administration Building in the Board of Election Office.

Tarboro Town Councilman Rick Page is the only known candidate who have publicly announced that he will run for mayor in the Nov. 14 election. Page made the announcement shortly after 18-year-veteran mayor, Donald Morris, said he would not run. Morris served a combined 32 years on the council.

Page, who is currently serving Ward 3, will be seeking his second term on the board.

With Page running for the mayor's seat, his Ward 3 seat will be left for grabs because he cannot run for both positions at the same time. In Tarboro Town Government, the mayor is elected by the people.

Other seats that are up for election are, Ward 1, Gerrelene M. Walker, Ward 5, Candis B. Owens and Ward 7 Taro Knight. All three will be seeking their second term in office. Walker and Owens made history during their first campaign by being the first women elected to Town of Tarboro council.

Perhaps another interesting race will be for Princeville's mayor seat. No candidates have publicly announced their desire to run, including the incumbent Mayor Priscilla Everette-Oates. An SBI investigation of mismanagement of town's fund has left a cloud hanging over Everette-Oates head on whether or not she will be eligible to run. If she is found guilty of the felony offense, she would likely be ineligible. Everette-Oates have strongly maintained that she is innocent of all the charges.

For the last four terms, former mayor, Delia Perkins and Everette-Oates have taking turns as the highest ranking politician in Princeville. Everette-Oates first defeated Perkins in 2000. Perkins ran in 2004 and retained the seat which began the swopping of the seat.

Will the two swop seat again?

"I would like to run because I believe that I have a lot to offer," Perkins said. "But as of right now I have not decided. I probably wait until about the middle of the filing period before I decide whether or not I'm going to run."

Other seats that will be opened are Ward 3, Isabelle Purvis Andrews and Ward 4, Calvin Sherrod. Everette-Oates, Purvis Andrews, and Sherrod collectively campaigned together in the 2008 election and pulled off astonishing upsets.  Everette-Oates defeated Perkins for the second time, Purvis-Andrews retained her seat from Ann Adams. Adams had defeated her in the 2004 election. Sherrod became a first time politician by defeating Carolyn Sharpe.

Macclesfield's mayor seat will also be on the ballot. Unlike the surrounding municipalities Macclesfield mayor serves 2-year terms. Mike Keel is the incumbent.

Other seats in Macclesfield that will be on the ballots are, Dennis L. Sanderson and R.B. Owens.

Other municipalities that has seats up for election are:

Conetoe:  The town's four commissioners and its mayor serves two-years terms and all will be up for election. The seats are filled by at-large voting.

Pinetops: Commissioner Suzanne L. Coker and Joyce E. Tolson.

Whitakers : Commissioner Doris Lindsey, Ronald G. Gibbons and Betty Bullock



Text Only
Local News