The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

April 25, 2013

Keihin Carolina Systems Technology announces Edgecombe County Public Schools scholarship winners


TARBORO — Keihin Carolina Systems Technology has announced the Edgecombe County Public Schools winners of the K-CST Scholarship.

Through the company’s scholarship program, a first-place scholarship at each school was awarded in the amount of $2,500. Three second-place scholarships of $1,000 are also granted to each of the traditional high schools. One of the $2,500 scholarship recipients is selected as the grand winner of a four-year scholarship of $4,500 to be distributed in the amount of $1,500 in the first year and $1,000 per year for the remaining three years.

Tonia Summerlin from SouthWest Edgecombe High School was named the overall winner, earning the $4,500 scholarship spread out for four years. Summerlin plans to attend East Carolina University (ECU) in the fall and take classes that will eventually lead to her enrollment in law school. In her scholarship essay, she wrote that she hopes to become a medical malpractice attorney in the future. Summerlin also plans to join the co-ed cheerleading squad at ECU. SouthWest seniors Jalen Dickens, Dawson Gould and Holly Perry will also receive $1,000 scholarships for qualifying as finalists in the program.

Edgecombe Early College High School senior Nikki Mullins was the $2,500 scholarship recipient for the Early College and plans to enroll at either Campbell University or the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in the fall with hopes to become a pharmacist. Mullins is striving towards achieving a doctorate in pharmacy from whichever college she chooses.

North Edgecombe High School’s $2,500 scholarship winner, Tanika Scott, will attend Winston-Salem State University in the fall and plans to pursue a career in nursing. Scott wrote in her application essay that her plan to become an Army nurse officer is already underway with her current involvement in the Army-JROTC program at North Edgecombe and she hopes to enroll in the JROTC program at Winston-Salem State as well. Kayla Booth, Cierra Franklin and Shanika Scott were chosen to receive $1,000 scholarships at North.

Quadasha Ruffin was the $2,500 scholarship recipient at Tarboro High School. Ruffin also plans to go into the healthcare field by enrolling at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro with the intentions of becoming a physical therapist in the future. Ruffin is already working towards this goal as a volunteer and clinical student at Vidant Edgecombe Hospital in the physical therapy department. Tarboro High School seniors Chandler Harris, Lang Long and Coleman McIntyre were selected to receive $1,000 scholarships.