The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

Local News

March 11, 2013

Distinguished service award nominees


In Monday's article on the Tarboro Edgecombe Chamber of Commerce's upcoming Distinguished Service Awards banquet, Michael Trevathan's name was unintentionally omitted from the list of eight nominees for law enforcement officer of the year.  The awards will recognize nominees in four categories: law enforcement officer of the year, Emergency Medical Services personnel of the year, firefighter of the year, and young educator of the year.

The Daily Southerner apologizes for any inconvenience this omission may have caused.

And the award for law enforcement officer of the year goes to…

One of seven nominees, which will be announced at the Tarboro Edgecombe Chamber of Commerce’s Distinguished Service Awards (DSA) banquet. The chamber has rescheduled its 80th anniversary, annual meeting and awards banquet for 5:30 p.m. Thursday, March 21, in the Mobley Atrium on Edgecombe Community College’s Tarboro campus. Along with law enforcement officer of the year, the awards banquet will recognize Emergency Medical Services (EMS) personnel of the year and young educator of the year.

“They provide public service to us all year, 24 hours a day, so we want to let them know that they’re appreciated,” said Chamber President Bobbie Martin. She said the idea for the DSA came from 2012 Chamber Chairman Jimmie Hughes, who had heard of other communities doing those type of awards. The Tarboro Edgecombe Chamber modeled this year’s DSA after that of the Pitt-Greenville Chamber.

“We used to do a citizen of the year. In 2010, we changed it and did business of the year,” Martin said. “We decided this year to recognize public service. We just thought they needed to be recognized.”

The first, second and third place award winners will receive engraved glass awards, while the runners-up will receive certificates.  

“Every area was judged by experts in that particular area,” Martin said. “There was a lot of background work done to make sure they were done fairly.”

Retired Tarboro Police Chief Robert Cherry headed up the judging of the law enforcement officer of the year nominees, while Allen Dennie, president of the Edgecombe County Fire and Rescue Association, oversaw the judging of EMS personnel of the year.

Tickets to the DSA are $25 per person.  Top of the Pines is catering the dinner. On the menu is salad, sliced pork and beef, mashed potato bar, mixed butterbeans and corn, dinner rolls and dessert. To buy tickets, call the Chamber at 823-7241.

The nominees are as follows:

E.M.S. Personnel of the Year Nominee – Chad Eason, Edgecombe County Rescue Squad

Firefighter of the Year – Lynn Adcock, West Edgecombe Volunteer Fire Department, Chris Andrews, Conetoe Volunteer Fire/ E.M.S. Department, and Stan Smith, South Edgecombe Volunteer Fire Department.

Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Nominees – Brandon Anderson, Tarboro Police Department, Marquel Baker – Edgecombe County Sheriff’s Office, Bryan Corey, Edgecombe County Sheriff’s Office, Jason Dawes – Edgecombe County Sheriff’s Office, Donald Norville – Tarboro Police Department, Mike Robbins – Tarboro Police Department, Julie Worley – Edgecombe County Sheriff’s Office.

Young Educator of the Year Nominees – Sarah Cavanaugh, Coker-Wimberly Elementary School, Rebecca Ehret, Edgecombe Community College, Sgt. Thomas Moore, North Edgecombe High School, Rachel Newbern, South Edgecombe Middle School, Alyssa Parrish, SouthWest Edgecombe High School, Brook Sykes, West Edgecombe Middle School.


Text Only
Local News