The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

September 4, 2013

Longtime ECC instructor receives faculty chair


TARBORO — Ann Roberson Kent, program chair of developmental studies at Edgecombe Community College (ECC), has been named recipient of the 2013-2014 Keihin Endowed Faculty Chair.

“Edgecombe Community College is the only place I’ve ever worked,” she said in accepting the award during a recent reception hosted by the ECC Foundation. “It’s the only place I’ve ever wanted to work.”

The chair was endowed by Keihin Carolina System Technology through a $100,000 gift in 2007, and it rewards excellence in teaching.

Kent has been a development studies instructor at ECC since 1980 and program chair since 2009. She also has taught courses in ECC’s early childhood program.

Her leadership at the college extends into the community. She is chair of the Edgecombe County Public Schools Board of Education and has served on the school board since 1994. She is a past Boy Scout troop leader and Sunday school teacher, current licensed wildlife rehabilitator, and award-winning gardener.

The Keihin Endowed Faculty Chair is the highest distinction the college can bestow on a member of its faculty. As the Keihin chair holder, Kent will receive $2,500 and a chair with an engraved brass nameplate.

In announcing the selection, Karen Andrus, executive director of the ECC Foundation, said about Kent, “Early in her career, she changed her focus from teaching to students to the philosophy of students first, teaching second. Not only are learning objectives taught, but relevant and essential workplace skills, such as punctuality and respect, are taught so students can restructure their lives for success.

“Working with students outside of the class to shore up deficient skills, and coming in early and staying late are not unusual for her.”

One student noted, “She takes time to build a relationship with each and every student. When asked for help, she gladly abides and gives 110 percent.”

Kent holds a bachelor’s degree in intermediate education, a master’s degree in reading education, a specialist degree in reading education and learning disabilities, and a reading “AG” certificate, all from East Carolina University.

She was selected by a committee of ECC personnel and KCST officials from a pool of nine nominees who submitted a performance portfolio, a philosophy of teaching, and an essay.

Other nominees were Rick Basile, criminal justice program chair; Sharon Braswell, nursing instructor; Betty Collings, office and medical office administration program chair; Patricia Copeland, developmental math instructor; Benjamin Curran, historic preservation instructor; Rebecca Stamilio Ehret, physics and industrial trades instructor; Dr. Johnica Ellis-Kiser, business administration/accounting program chair; and Carolyn Sherrill, cosmetology instructor/Rocky Mount site coordinator.

Kent is the seventh Keihin Chair holder at the college. Previous recipients are instructors Tim King, 2012; Pam Morgan, 2011; Ralph Webb, 2010; Bruce Panneton, 2009; J.H. Koonce, 2008; and Monika Fleming, 2007.