The Daily Southerner, Tarboro, NC

July 18, 2013

Patillo alumni hold 32nd annual reunion


TARBORO — The 32nd annual reunion of th W. A.  Pattillo High School National Alumni Association, Inc. was observed July 5-7 in Tarboro and Rocky Mount. More than 250 alumni, family, and friends were in attendance.  The theme for this year’s celebration was Preserving Our Legacy! “Thy Noble Sons, Thy Daughters Fair: Celebrating Our Past and Embracing the Future.”

The kick-off event on July 5 was a “Meet and Greet” held in the Mobley Atrium at the  Thomas S. Fleming Center at Edgecombe Community College. The setting  provided the perfect environment for seeing and talking to friends,  classmates,  and schoolmates.  It was also an awesome opportunity to make new acquaintances.

On Saturday, the national board meeting took place at W. A. Pattillo School under the direction of national president Dr. Fred S. Wood, Jr. The president’s annual report to the membership revealed overall growth in programs. Especially noteworthy was a successful scholarship campaign, increased membership, more scholarships and incentive awards given, additional displays for school artifacts, and a solvent fiscal year.  Newly elective officers included Rev. Ronnie Smith and Rev. George Cromwell, chaplains of the North and South respectively; Conferlete Carney, parliamentarian, and Victor Spencer and Linda Worsley, Northwest and Southeast Regional Directors, respectively.  Dr. Florence Armstrong, C. Rudolph Knight and Earlene Womack were re-elected as directors-at-large.

Pattillo School was the site for the Saturday Trojan Family Fun Fest which was well-attended by many families.

The Trojan Gala, held Saturday night at the Gateway Convention Centre in Rocky Mount included live musical entertainment and showcased three Distinguished Pattillo Alumni that have made a significant impact locally, statewide, and/or nationally.  They were:  Attorney Earl Brown, Class of 1969; Janice Bryant Howroyd, Class of 1970; and Dr. Frank B. Weaver, Class of 1944.

Sunday morning, the Trojan Breakfast was held at the Mobley Atrium.  The keynote speaker, Rev. Cromwell, Class of 1961, spoke to the reunion theme. His address placed emphasis on finding out who you are and applying your skills for the benefit of the greater good of mankind.  Also, scholarships were presented to ECPS students:  Julia Hayes, Tyanna Lewis, Coleman McIntyre,  Brittany Linkous and Kayla Pettaway.  Valedictorians of the Tarboro Colored and W.A. Pattillo High Schools from 1924 to 1970 were honored and inducted into the Academic Hall of Fame.  The class with the highest number of alumni attending the reunion was also recognized. Last year it was the Class of 1967, this year it was the Class of 1969.  Plaques will be placed in Pattillo School Display showing the names of Athletic Hall of Famers , the Academic Hall of Famers and the Attendance Winners.

The W. A. Pattillo High School National Alumni Association, Inc. would like to thank all of the businesses and individuals in Edgecombe County who have assisted in making the association’s efforts successful.